You would still need to report those funds on your taxes, of course, but it is a useful way to help out your family or friends. 11. into my head, and I'm finally realizing I HATE my job, with a passion! Most maintenance electricians work unusual hours. There will also be times when youre responding to calls late at night. There are so many benefits of being an electrician. Depending on your state . Electricians can start side hustles. You have risks of burns, shocks, and falls to manage with your duties in most environments. The engineers are always right, even when they are wrong. The best part of the Australian Apprenticeship Support Network is that most members are female. The minimum amount of time it takes to open a business of your own is five years, but a more realistic expectation of the circumstances puts that timeframe more in a 10-year window. I'm a retired black electrician with 31 years in the trade . When high school students learn what it's like to be an electrician, they can get excited about the field and consider pursuing it as a career. For more information, please see our Add to the fact that working the whole weekend or being on call is very common among electricians and some start to get fed up with the long hours. Some of their most common job duties include: Developing cost estimates. 7. I'm so frustrated by this. 7 #7: The Looming Legacy. Here's the most important thing any electrician will tell you: Never, ever ignore the warning signs of problems in your electrical system. 5. I loved doing electrical work. If youve ever thought aboutbeing an electrician, make an effort to learn more about what working as an electrician is like. Reply to Feeling Fed up with the trade in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net. These will all contribute to the cost of living as an electrician. While its true that electricians will be well-compensated for their work, you may want to consider a lower cost of living in a less urbanized area. This is